If you’re charged with driving under the influence in Orange County, it’s imperative to retain the services of an experienced Orange County DUI lawyer at once and fight the charge. If you are convicted of DWI and sentenced to probation – like thousands in California – you’ll be ordered to attend alcohol education classes, counseling, and/or treatment. It’s better to avoid a DWI charge entirely, and if you are charged with DWI, it’s better to avoid a conviction. Mandatory DWI rehabilitation is onerous, costly, and may continue in some cases for years. A good DUI attorney can help you contest a DUI charge and fight aggressively for justice on your behalf.
Upon conviction for a first-offense misdemeanor DWI, most offenders are ordered into a 30-hour rehabilitation program that takes place over three months. With a second conviction (within ten years), the court will typically order participation in an 18-to-30 month education and rehab program that consists of classes and counseling. A third conviction will probably mean classes and counseling for a full thirty months. If you are convicted of driving under the influence in California but you reside in another state, you may be allowed to take part in a similar program in your home state.
Reducing DWI recidivism is the goal of California’s alcohol rehabilitation programs, but classes and counseling are only one aspect of a DUI conviction. A DWI sentence typically includes a harsh fine, years on probation, the loss of your driving privilege, and the real possibility of time in jail. If you are arrested and charged with DUI, fight the charge. An experienced Orange County DWI lawyer can examine your DWI case, challenge DWI test results, and cast doubt on the prosecution’s evidence and witnesses. In Orange County, if you are charged with DUI, do the right thing for yourself and contact an experienced Orange County DWI lawyer immediately.