In southern California or anywhere else, when the average person is charged with DUI, the first question is, “Will I go to jail if I’m convicted?”
In most cases, for most offenders, the answer is no. (Of course, you’ll likely spend one night in jail when you’re arrested.) If it’s your first offense and there’s no accident or injuries, no children in your car, and you cooperate by taking a blood or breath test, in most counties your chances of going to jail are almost zero, but it depends on the jurisdiction. While state law in California requires no jail time upon conviction for a misdemeanor, first-offense DUI, several individual counties require a “token” jail sentence that can be genuinely aggravating and inconvenient. In Ventura County, for example, a first DWI conviction can send you to jail for 48 hours; in Riverside County, it’s 6 to 10 days. An experienced California DWI defense attorney can often help you avoid a conviction. If you’re charged with DUI, it’s imperative get legal help and to speak with a good California DUI defense lawyer promptly.
The ramifications of any DWI conviction are serious; you’ll be fined, lose your driver’s license, and sent to a treatment program. Jail is a real possibility if you are charged with felony-DUI or if it’s your second or subsequent offense. If you’re charged with DUI in southern California, have an experienced Orange County DWI defense attorney represent you and protect your rights. In some cases the charge can be reduced or dismissed entirely. If your case goes to trial, a good DWI defense lawyer will seek to discredit the state’s witnesses and evidence and will fight aggressively on your behalf. If you face a DWI charge now or in the future, get the legal help you need and call an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney immediately.