You probably know that in California, you are over the legal limit if you drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 percent or higher. What you may not know is that 0.08 percent is not the limit for everyone. California makes it illegal for drivers under age 21 and drivers on probation for a previous DUI conviction to drive with a BAC level at even 0.01 percent. It’s effectively a zero-tolerance policy for these drivers. If you have been charged under any circumstances with driving under the influence in southern California, seek legal help at once; consult with an experienced Orange County DUI defense lawyer. A good DUI attorney will defend your rights aggressively and work toward the best possible resolution of your case.
The legal drinking age in California is 21, and the state is serious about enforcement. Drivers under 21 may not consume alcohol in any form including cough syrup and prescription medications. Underage drinkers are responsible for a disproportionate number of alcohol-related traffic fatalities, so the standards are stricter and the penalties can be harsher for drivers not yet age 21. Underage drivers convicted of DUI can serve from four days to six months in jail, be fined from $1,400 to $2,600, and have their licenses suspended from one-to-ten months. A second conviction for underage DUI can mean ten days to a year in jail, fines from $1,800 to $2,800, and a 12-to-24-month license suspension.
If you are arrested for DUI while you are on probation for a previous DUI, your legal BAC limit is also 0.01 percent, and if you’re convicted, you may be looking at six months in jail among other penalties. If you face any DUI or DUI-related charge in southern California, now or in the future, your best hope for justice is obtaining the services of an experienced Orange County DUI defense lawyer as quickly as possible. Don’t hesitate to make the call.