For most people, a DUI arrest is a one-time, isolated incident. Nevertheless, about 27 percent of those arrested for DWI in California are repeat offenders. It’s no surprise that repeat offenders face tougher penalties. The courts and California law operate under the principle that a “lesson” should be learned from a first conviction, but as we all know, often that isn’t the case. If you are accused of DWI in southern California – whether it’s your first offense or a repeat offense – get legal help at once and contact an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney.
A second DUI conviction in California can land the offender in jail anywhere from ten days to a year. The fine for a second DWI conviction ranges from $1,800 to $2,800, and your license will be suspended. A third DWI conviction means even tougher penalties: 120 days to a year in jail, fines up to $18,000, and a 3-year license suspension.
Lawmakers and courts are always on the lookout for innovative and more effective ways to deter and punish repeat DUI offenders. Historically, the courts have relied on tougher sentences, but technology now offers some real hope for reducing the number of intoxicated drivers on California’s streets and highways. GPS-style tracking technology, ignition interlock devices, and even driverless, computer-guided cars aren’t science fiction, and they aren’t years away. They’re realities now, and observers expect DWI figures to decline incrementally over the next several years.
Most people understand that we’re all capable of making mistakes once. But when you’re charged with a second or third DUI in southern California, it’s imperative to obtain quality legal help from a good Orange County DWI lawyer. Second and third DUI convictions can do serious damage to your family, your job prospects, and even your ability to obtain a residence. The good news is that an arrest is not automatically a conviction. Every day in California, good DWI defense lawyers successfully get charges dropped and win acquittals for their clients. If you’re charged with a DUI in southern California, now or in the future, seek the skilled legal help and aggressive defense representation you need from an experienced Orange County DWI defense attorney.