Many drivers are already aware of the criminal penalties for DUI in California. If you’re convicted of DWI in this state, you can be fined – from $390 to $1,000 – and in some cases you could serve up to six months in jail for a first offense. You’ll serve three to five years on probation, and you’ll be ordered to attend and pay for DUI school. In some counties – or at a judge’s discretion – you’ll also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle when your license suspension is lifted. Clearly, a DUI conviction is something you want to avoid in California, so if you’re charged with driving under the influence in Orange County, obtain the legal help you need by speaking promptly to an experienced Orange County DUI defense lawyer.
The criminal penalties for a California misdemeanor DWI conviction are considerable, but if you’re arrested for DWI after causing injuries or fatalities, you’ll probably be charged with a felony. If you’re convicted for felony DUI, you could serve at least two years, and possibly more, in a California state prison. You could also face penalties in civil court if injury victims or wrongful death survivors take legal action against you. In Bremerton, Washington, a DWI injury victim who spent two months in a coma was awarded $1.3 million in September. Andrew O’Brien, 26, was walking home with a friend in September, 2014, when a driver named Dan Krogman crashed into them, killing O’Brien’s companion. O’Brien suffered a traumatic brain injury and had to learn how to walk again.
Obviously, drinking and driving simply don’t mix. The risks are far too high for everyone involved. Still, even good people can make a mistake – or be falsely accused – and end up charged with DUI. If that happens to you in Orange County, arrange at once to discuss your case with an experienced Orange County DWI defense lawyer.