California courts routinely require drivers convicted of a DUI offense to complete an Alcohol and Drug Education and Counseling program provided by a state-licensed service provider. The length of the program depends on the details of the conviction and the offender’s previous criminal history. A class may be as short as 12 hours for some first offenses or take as long as 30 months if you have previous DWI convictions. If you’re accused of DWI in Orange County – whether or not you have prior convictions – defend yourself. Fight the charge with the help of an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney.
A minor convicted of a first-offense misdemeanor DUI will typically be ordered to complete AB 803, a 12-hour course (two hours a week for six weeks). A first-offense wet reckless conviction typically requires an offender to attend SB 1176, which is also a 12-hour course, two hours a week for six weeks. A first-offense DUI conviction with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level measured from 0.08 percent to 0.14 percent typically requires the offender to complete AB 541, a 30-hour course that stretches over three months. Several other courses are provided for offenders with higher BAC levels and subsequent convictions. Some offenders will be looking at two-and-a-half years of classes, counseling, and enrollment fees.
Defendants should understand that in any particular case, the court’s decision will depend on the individual circumstances of that case. DWI classes in California can be lengthy, burdensome, and expensive. If you are charged with DWI, do not plead guilty, and don’t try to act as your own attorney. If you’re facing a DUI charge in Orange County, take it seriously and get help immediately from someone who can fight for justice on your behalf. Speak at once to an experienced Orange County DWI defense attorney.