With summer now upon us, it’s the time of year when people in southern California passionately pursue a number of outdoor recreations. It’s also a good time to remember that the laws against drinking and driving in California don’t merely apply to motor vehicles. It’s additionally against the law to ride a bicycle or to operate a boat when you’re intoxicated. If you are charged in Orange County with driving, bicycling, or boating under the influence, you’ll need to retain legal help immediately and contact an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney.
It doesn’t matter if you’re on a river, a lake, or the Pacific Ocean; operating a boat or any other watercraft while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a crime in California. The penalties for a “BUI” (boating under the influence) conviction can include a suspension of your driver’s license, a substantial fine, and even time in jail. A BUI conviction in California also counts as a previous conviction if you’re charged with DUI at any time in the succeeding ten years. Bicycling or cycling under the influence – “CUI” – is also against the law in California. No jail time is required for CUI offenders, but it’s a misdemeanor. If you’re convicted, you can be fined up to $250, and if you’re under 21, your driver’s license can be suspended.
If you are driving, bicycling, or boating, you can be arrested if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level measures at 0.08 percent or higher. You can also be arrested – without regard to your measurable BAC level – if a police officer believes that you are intoxicated or that you cannot safely operate your vehicle, boat, or bicycle for some other reason. If you’re accused of boating, bicycling, or driving under the influence in Orange County or anywhere else in southern California this summer, fight the charge. Get the legal help you need and contact an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney immediately.