In California and every other state, you may not drive legally if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level – the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream – exceeds 0.08 percent. If you’re accused of DWI in this state, you’ll need to obtain legal help at once and contact an experienced Orange County DUI attorney. Two years ago, the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recommended reducing the “legal limit” to 0.05 percent, but the recommendation has not found any support in the United States. In Europe, however, it’s a different story. Many European nations set the legal BAC limit at 0.05 percent, and last year, Scotland became the latest nation to adopt the 0.05 percent limit.
Now, the Police Federation of England and Wales is calling for those nations to follow Scotland’s lead. One of the reasons is recent research showing that young British women are drinking more and driving under the influence more. Women now account for 17 percent of DWI convictions in England, compared to just 9 percent in 1998. In the same period, per-capita DUI convictions for men have been decreasing. The push against driving under the influence is part of a larger movement to reduce crime in England, but critics say a lower legal limit penalizes responsible drinkers and ignores the bigger problem of risky repeat offenders.
If England and Wales change their DUI laws to reduce the legal limit, the United States will be one of the last nations with a legal limit above 0.05 percent. For now, the BAC limit in California remains at 0.08 percent, yet thousands are still charged with DUI in California every year. If you are one of those charged with DUI in Orange County or anywhere else in southern California, fight the charge. For legal advice and representation after any southern California DWI arrest, contact an experienced Orange County DUI attorney as quickly as possible.